Best Detailing Software is published by Mobile Service Sync, which makes one of the products reviewed here. How we score.
Best Detailing Software

Rankings / Housecall Pro

Housecall Pro Review: Built for House Calls, Not the Bay

Housecall Pro is solid software for the mobile half of a detailing business: its $79 Basic plan includes the app, two-way texting, automatic review requests and online booking held to the ZIP codes you serve. For the bay half it publishes nothing: no shop or mobile choice in booking, no bay limit and no drop-off scheduling, and it keeps equipment per property rather than a customer vehicle record.

47.5 / 100, ranked #5 of 6. Mobile Service Sync scores 100.0. Best for: HVAC, plumbing and electrical crews, and a detailer who never takes a car in.

The Shop Side, at a Glance

Drop-off or mobile, bay capacity, and the handover, from Housecall Pro's own pages.

  • Drop-off or mobile in one bookingNot statedno shop or mobile choice in booking (source)
  • Bay capacity on online bookingNot statedno bay or shop capacity limit described (source)
  • Drop-off and pickup workflowNot statedno drop off scheduling described (source)

Housecall Pro in the Bay and on the Road

Housecall Pro has an auto detailing page, but its online booking overview describes no choice between the shop and a mobile visit, no limit on bays or shop capacity and no drop-off scheduling. A detailer with a bay would be running that side somewhere else.

On the road it does well. The app is on iOS and Android on every plan, booking is gated by the ZIP codes you serve and adds a zone trip charge automatically, replies to the texting number land in an inbox, and a review request goes out when a job is finished. Grouping and sequencing jobs start on Essentials at $189 a month.

Offline, the app shows today and the next two days, view only. Equipment is tracked per property rather than per vehicle, there is no built-in inventory (its help center points to QuickBooks), PO numbers are still rolling out and customer payment terms are in early testing.

Basic is $79 a month for one user, Essentials $189 with five users and MAX $329 with eight, with lower prices when billed annually. Plans are month to month, and the trial runs 14 days with no card.

Every Criterion, Scored

Each line links to the Housecall Pro page that settles it, read November 7, 2026.

  • Drop-off or mobile in one bookingNot statedno shop or mobile choice in booking (source)
  • Bay capacity on online bookingNot statedno bay or shop capacity limit described (source)
  • Drop-off and pickup workflowNot statedno drop off scheduling described (source)
  • Vehicle records with plate or VIN lookupNot statedequipment per property, no vehicle record named (source)
  • Online booking that respects your area and capacityIncludedon Basic, gated by service area zip codes (source)
  • Route optimizationHigher planEssentials, $189/month, sequences jobs (source)
  • Technician app on iPhone and AndroidIncludediOS and Android on all plans (source)
  • Two-way textingIncludedtexting number on all plans, replies to inbox (source)
  • Automatic review requestsIncludedsent automatically when a job is finished (source)
  • Works with no signalPartialview only, today plus two days (source)
  • Published price, month to month, free trialIncludedpublished, month to month, 14 days no card (source)

Housecall Pro Plans, as Published

  • Basic: $79/mo, 1 user ($59/mo billed annually)
  • Essentials: $189/mo, 5 users ($149/mo billed annually), adds route grouping and sequencing
  • MAX: $329/mo, 8 users, $35/mo per added user ($299/mo billed annually)
  • HVAC, plumbing and electrical packages priced separately

Where Mobile Service Sync Goes Further

Mobile Service Sync keeps what Housecall Pro does well on the road, booking held to your area, texting and review requests on the first plan, and adds the bay: a drop-off or mobile choice on the booking page, drop-offs capped by bay count, the shop's own pickup options and a ready text. It also files every job on a vehicle filled in from the plate.

Mobile Service Sync lays out the full side by side on its own site: Mobile Service Sync vs Housecall Pro.

Questions About Housecall Pro

Can a detailing shop use Housecall Pro?
It can, but nothing in Housecall Pro's booking is built around a bay. Its online booking overview describes no shop or mobile choice, no bay or shop capacity limit and no drop-off scheduling, and it names no customer vehicle record.
How much does Housecall Pro cost?
Basic is $79 a month with one user, Essentials $189 with five and MAX $329 with eight, plus $35 a month per added user on MAX; billed annually they are $59, $149 and $299. There is a 14-day trial with no card.

Sources